Car owners in New Jersey may disagree about the speed limits, traffic rules, and driving policies but there is one thing that is common for all and all drivers can agree on i.e the Car Insurance Laws. New Jersey’s laws are strict when it comes to lapsed insurance. Like most states in the US, New Jersey has minimum insurance requirements, and it is certainly violating the law if you drive without meeting them.
In New Jersey, drivers can choose from minimum coverage or more extensive insurance policies depending on their requirements. It assists with comprehending what you are required to have while understanding the shortcomings of buying just the least inclusion so you can settle on the best choice.
New Jersey Car Insurance Requirement as per Laws for New Jersey drivers:
- $15000 bodily injury per person per accident
- $30000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
- $5000 property damage liability
- $15000/$30000 uninsured motorist bodily injury
- $5000 per accident with $500 that is deductible for uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage.
Penalties for Driving without Car Insurance
New Jersey forces extreme and exacting penalties on the individuals who drive without insurance. Outcomes can incorporate fines, overcharges, suspended driver’s licenses, and unpaid community service. In addition, insurance points are forced, which can essentially add to the expense of car insurance.