List of Traffic Rules & Fines in New Jersey

For those who have never ventured into the state of New Jersey, you can attest to the fact that the traffic rules are a little different there.

Are you going to travel to New Jersey and are you planning to drive there? Take a look at the List of Traffic Rules & Fines in New Jersey:

Put Safety First

When driving in New Jersey, its compulsory to use the seat belt. You may be fined if you drive or transport passengers without a seat belt. Children should also be transported in appropriate seats according to their age, and always in the back seat.

You should turn on the headlights at dusk, just after sunset, to see what happens in the traffic more clearly and so that other drivers can see it too. There are two intensities for vehicle headlights. Use the low headlight when driving on the roads in the company of other cars and the brighter headlight only when driving alone on very dark roads, passing through parks or forests, for example. In New Jersey, it is considered a sign of education to swap the high beacon for the low beacon when finding another car on the road.

If any driver is doing something that is undesirable and could put you at risk, press the center of the steering wheel to engage the horn. Use the horn when necessary, as it may scare other drivers.

Many states including New Jersey have banned the use of cell phones at the wheel, especially for texting. As a result, it is safer to use your phone only when you have arrived at your destination.

If you hear or see an emergency vehicle such as an ambulance or a fire engine car, with lights on and/or sirens on, stop and park immediately to the right.  If you are driving and the police ask you to stop, stay inside the car. The officer will advise you if you need to leave the vehicle.

Fines

If you are caught driving or riding in a car without wearing your seatbelt in New Jersey, you will receive a fine of over $100. Also, the fine for violating New Jersey’s baby car seat law is currently over $80.

As regards using cell phones while driving in New Jersey, the fine shall be between $200 and $400 for a first offense. For a second offense, the fine shall be between $400 and $600. For a third or subsequent cell phone ticket violation, the fine shall be between $600 and $800.

Respect The Speed Limit

It may be tempting to drive at high speeds in New Jersey, especially on the beautiful highways, but you must adhere to the speed limits which are indicated in miles per hour (one mile is 1.6 kilometers). The speed limit on main roads is usually 65 miles per hour (about 100 miles per hour), but this may vary. In major cities of NJ, this limit generally drops to 30 miles per hour (about 50 miles per hour). When leaving main roads to take secondary roads, look for speed limit signs to suit local traffic.

Driving too slowly can also cause problems. If you are not sure what the speed limit is, follow the speed of the other vehicles around you.

Fines

If you are caught speeding in a Safe Corridor or a construction zone in NJ, your speeding ticket fine is approximately doubled. The fines for the most common speeding violations are as follows: Speeding by 1-9 mph over the limit: $140. Speeding 10-14 mph: $160.

Never Consume Alcohol While Driving

Although there is a tolerance for the amount of alcohol in the blood – variable according to locality – it is strictly forbidden that anyone in the car, whether a driver or any of the passengers, consume alcohol inside the car in New Jersey. This includes not having any open or empty bottle of drinks in the vehicle. It is also recommended that you do not consume alcohol when driving in New Jersey because if the value goes beyond what is allowed, this classifies a DUI, that is Driver Under Influence, which is a very serious offense and can even prevent you from being admitted into the state again.

Fines

Arrest and conviction for drunk driving in the State of New Jersey will cost you between $500 and $1,000.

Respect The Traffic Lights

Traffic lights are used to guide drivers at intersections. In New Jersey, the colors of the traffic lights change from green to yellow and yellow to red, turning directly to green. The green indicates that it is possible to follow, the yellow indicates that it is necessary to have attention and the red indicates that you must stop.

In New Jersey, many traffic lights rely on cameras to identify drivers who do not stop at the red light. If the cameras record this infraction, you can be fined, and the fine will be sent to your vehicle’s rental store. So be careful. When turning to the left, give preference to road traffic.

In New Jersey, it is also common to find intersections with four stop signs instead of traffic lights. In this case, give preference to those who arrived at the intersection first. If you have arrived at the intersection at the same time, the car on the right has the preference. If you are not sure about what to do, wait for the other drivers to indicate that it is your turn.

Read also: QUICK TIPS TO KEEP YOUR CAR COOL THIS SUMMER

Fines

For a stop sign or red light violation in New Jersey, you’re typically looking at a $50 to $200 fine. However, court costs and assessments can add anywhere from about $12 to $33 to the total you pay. And although it’s not common, up to 15 days in jail is also possible.

Be Careful When Parking

The rules for parking on the streets vary a lot In New Jersey. Therefore, pay attention to the plates that inform the time limit, the tariffs and the restrictions. Many urban areas have parking lots that eliminate the job of looking for places on the streets, but they charge high fees.

When parking on the street, look for payment kiosks which accept credit card payments. Some mobile applications also allow you to use your smartphone to pay for the time the vehicle stays parked. When parking at the curb, stop the car in the same direction as the track traffic (with the front of the car first).

Fines

Altering, forging or counterfeiting any parking permit- $150

Illegal parking- $40

Improper parking- $15

Overtime parking at meters- $10

Parking without an appropriate permit in a reserved lot or space- $30

In conclusion, New Jersey provides a great landscape as regards driving and in order to navigate safely, its best to be aware of the major Traffic Rules & Fines as highlighted above.

Leave a comment